School Start Screening Tool

School Start Screening Tool - Paul Krassnig

School Start Screening Tool

Description

I finished my master's thesis, with the title "School Start Screening Tool", in April 2021 by passing my defence about my thesis.

Abstract of the final thesis:
"Screenings to assess fundamental skills of children are around long before the introduction of the general compulsory school and are commonly used to determine if children have any special educational needs. These screenings consist out of different assignments and vary in their structure and processing time. The assessed skills usually are needed for the development of different competences like reading, mathematics or writing.

Based on the plan of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, a new screening should be introduced in the future to identify if children have a lack of skill in any educational area before entering school. This screening can be carried out in form of a paper-pencil version or with the help of a tablet computer in form of a mobile application.

The aim of this thesis is the development of the mentioned digital screening, in this thesis called "School Start Screening Tool", and its infrastructure, consisting out of a web application and a web server. The major goal was to find out how a tablet application for children at preschool age, without necessary skills in reading and writing, can be developed and how to design the application so that the children stay motivated for several minutes. Furthermore, the assignments, developed by the developmental psychologists, had to meet their different requirements and had to be wrapped within an interesting frame story for the children."

Presentation link: https://www.slideshare.net/sociallearning_tugraz/school-start-screening-tool

Details

Plattform Web and Android App
Number of assessed children (2020) more than 800
Number of assignment 9

For more information, write today to paul.krassnig@gmx.at.

© 2020 Paul Krassnig. All rights reserved.

School Start Screening Tool

School Start Screening Tool - Paul Krassnig

School Start Screening Tool

Beschreibung

Meine Masterarbeit, mit dem Titel "School Start Screening Tool", schloss ich im April 2021 durch das Bestehen der Verteidigung meiner Arbeit ab.

Kurzfassung aus der schriftlichen Arbeit:
"Schon vor der Einführung der Pflichtschule existierten bereits Screenings zur Beurteilung der grundlegenden Fähigkeiten von Kindern, um festzustellen, ob diese einen besonderen Förderunterricht benötigen. Diese Screenings bestehen aus verschiedenen Aufgaben und variieren in ihrer Struktur und Durchführungszeit. Die untersuchten Fähigkeiten werden normalerweise für die Entwicklung verschiedener Grundkompetenzen wie Lesen, Mathematik oder Rechtschreiben benötigt.

Laut dem Plan des österreichischen Bundesministeriums für Bildung soll künftig ein neues Screening eingeführt werden, um Kinder, die nicht über ausreichende Fähigkeiten in einem Bildungsbereich verfügen, vor dem Schulbeginn zu identifizieren. Dieses Screening kann in Form einer Papier-Bleistift-Version oder mithilfe eines Tablet-Computers in Form einer mobilen Anwendung durchgeführt werden.

Das Ziel dieser Arbeit ist die Entwicklung des erwähnten digitalen Screenings, welches in dieser Arbeit als "School Start Screening Tool" bezeichnet wird, und dessen Infrastruktur, bestehend aus einer Webapplikation und einem Webserver. Das Hauptziel war herauszufinden, wie eine Tablet-Anwendung für Kinder im Vorschulalter ohne die erforderlichen Lese- und Rechtschreibfähigkeiten entwickelt werden kann und wie man diese Anwendung gestaltet, um Kinder über mehrere Minuten lang motiviert zu halten. Darüber hinaus mussten die von den Entwicklungspsychologen entwickelten Aufgaben ihren unterschiedlichen Anforderungen entsprechen und in eine interessante Rahmengeschichte für die Kinder eingebunden werden."

Präsentationslink: https://www.slideshare.net/sociallearning_tugraz/school-start-screening-tool

1. Link to paper: http://www.learntechlib.org/p/219660/
2. Link to paper: https://www.academia.edu/50279171/School_Start_Screening_Tool?coauthor_invite=86efc9e79a430c427028b061ded71dfb&src=approve_btn

Details

Plattform Web und Android App
Anzahl überprüfte Kinder (2020) mehr als 800
Nummer an Aufgaben 9

Für weitere Informationen melde dich bei mir über contact@paulkrassnig.at.

© 2020 Paul Krassnig. All rights reserved.